Work it out

Dear men at the gym,

Quit looking at me like you are hungry. I am not for dinner.

 

Dear men at the gym,

I can hear you when you are talking about me to your friend standing 5 feet away from me. I am a teacher. I can hear everything.

 

Dear men at the gym,

Just because I am wearing leggings and a tiny tank top does not mean I put this outfit on for you.

 

Dear men at the gym,

You eyeing me and then increasing the weight of your sets just reminds me that you don’t know what you are doing. It does not impress me. You are not here to impress me.

 

Dear women at the gym,

Yes, I am thin. That’s not why I workout. Quit looking at me like I don’t belong here. I am trying to stay sane.

 

Dear women at the gym,

I am standing on this scale to make sure I haven’t lost any weight. Do not scoff at me as you walk by. I can hear you.

 

Dear women at the gym,

Take up more space. Don’t cluster tidily in the corner like you might be interrupting something. Spread out in the weight room. Leave your shit everywhere.

Except when we are in Zumba class, then put your stuff in a locker and try not to accidentally smack me. It gets crowded.

One thought on “Work it out

Leave a Reply

